New and more ecological Generation of Brazilian Bikini

It is almost time to buy yourself a new swimsuit however it is important to keep in mind that traditional fabrics used to create your favorite bikini is also harmful to the environment, and it is quite simple to understand why: plastic.

Most of beachwear brands use fabrics such as nylon, polyester and spandex due to their stretching attributes as well as to their low price. And here lies the main problem since these fabrics are not biodegradable, it is bound to exist forever and end up in the ocean where they will be eaten by sea animals or will break down into microplastics. However, changes are being made in the swimwear industry and specially in Brazil, known as one of the largest swimwear producers in the world, as exemplified below.

Emi Beachwear

One of the first brands to adopt a sustainable production process, Emi Beachwear’s fabrics undergo a treatment that receives an edible additive by bacteria, therefore the bikini decomposes quickly. But it will not decompose itself inside your wardrobe, it only decomposes itself in places with lots of bacteria.

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by

The brand also does its packaging with the cut fabrics that are no longer useful as clothing. In addition, their clothing comes with a plantable seed tag of basil or daisy.

Website: www.emibeachwear.com.br

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Levh

Levh is a great example of efficient partnerships: alongside the Italian company Econyl®, Levh develops fabrics made from regenerated nylon from fishing nets and other types of nylons discarded in the oceans and landfills.

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by

In addition, all of its bikinis have UV protection and in partnership with RioBike Courier, the brand does ecological bicycle deliveries. To engage its consumers into acting, the brand donates 1% of the value of each piece sold to two institutions: SOS Amazônia (biodiversity conservation) and EcoSurf (beaches and oceans conservation).

Website: www.levhrio.com.br

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou

The brand approches environmental issues by producing beachwear made of ecological raw materials (biodegradable, recyclable, organic…). But what does it all mean? It means that after being discarded in a landfill, the fabric decomposes in a short period of time, only 4 years. Besides, the brand does not use polyester fabrics from recycled PET bottles in order to not release microplastics into the oceans.

Website: www.acajou.com.br

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by

La nouvelle génération écologique de bikini brésilien

L’été est la saison la plus attendue de l’année et est synonyme de l’arrivée de nouveaux bikinis. Mais il est important de garder à l’esprit que les tissus traditionnels utilisés pour créer votre bikini préféré sont également nocifs pour l’environnement, et il est assez simple de comprendre pourquoi : le plastique.

La plupart des marques de vêtements de plage utilisent des tissus tels que le nylon, le polyester et le spandex en raison de leurs propriétés d’étirement ainsi que de leur faible coût. En revanche, ces tissus ne sont pas biodégradables, ils existeront pour toujours et finiront dans l’océan où ils seront ingérés par les animaux marins ou se décomposeront en microplastiques. Cependant, des changements sont en cours dans l’industrie du maillot de bain et spécialement au Brésil, connu comme l’un des plus grands producteurs de maillots de bain au monde, comme illustré ci-dessous.

Emi Beachwear

L’une des premières marques à adopter un processus de production durable, les tissus Emi Beachwear subissent un traitement qui reçoit un additif comestible par des bactéries, donc le bikini se décompose rapidement. Mais il ne se décomposera pas à l’intérieur de votre garde-robe ! Il ne se décompose que dans des endroits riches en bactéries.

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by

La marque fait également son packaging avec des tissus coupés qui ne sont plus utiles comme vêtements. De plus, leurs vêtements sont livrés avec une étiquette plantable de basilic ou de marguerite.


Site Web: www.emibeachwear.com.br

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Levh

Levh est un excellent exemple de partenariats efficaces : aux côtés de la société italienne Econyl®, Levh développe des tissus en nylon régénéré à partir de filets de pêche et d’autres types de nylons jetés dans les océans et les décharges.

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by

De plus, tous ses bikinis sont protégés contre les UV et en partenariat avec RioBike Courier, la marque effectue des livraisons plus écologiques en vélo. Pour inciter ses consommateurs à agir, la marque fait don de 1% de la valeur de chaque pièce vendue à deux institutions : SOS Amazônia (conservation de la biodiversité de l’Amazonie) et EcoSurf (conservation des plages et des océans).


Site Web: www.levhrio.com.br

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou

La marque aborde les enjeux environnementaux en produisant des vêtements de plage à base de matières premières écologiques (biodégradables, recyclables, bio…). Mais qu’est-ce que tout cela veut dire? Cela signifie qu’après avoir été jeté dans une décharge, le tissu se décompose en peu de temps, seulement 4 ans. Par ailleurs, la marque n’utilise pas de tissus polyester issus de bouteilles PET recyclées afin de ne pas libérer de microplastiques dans les océans.


Site Web: www.acajou.com.br

Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by
Acajou, Emi, Levh, Nylon
Selected by