When artificial intelligence turns its hand to fashion

Wearing a dress that doesn’t exist? At a time when augmented reality is setting the tone for new innovations, a piece without yarn or stitching has been created by the Dutch designer The Fabricant, in collaboration with Dapper Labs and the artist Johanna Jaskowska. More surprising still, this one-of-a-kind piece was auctioned on the blockchain for almost $9,500, a first in the fashion world.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Influence and ecology

Following on from virtual influencers such as Sophia and Liam Nikuro, it’s the turn of the clothes themselves to transcend the laws of physics. Given the rise of augmented reality, these pieces that you cannot touch can only be worn virtually, adorning our figures on social media in particular.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Soon we will therefore be able to be seen in an Instagram post wearing an outfit that doesn’t exist. It is a way for bloggers and other 4.0 influencers to endlessly renew their wardrobe – their famous #OutfitOfTheDay being right at the heart of their business – without falling into excessive ready-to-wear consumption. In the light of the demand for novelty, many pieces proudly sported on their account are nonetheless relegated to the depths of their well-appointed wardrobe the next day, generating via their followers a turnover of looks that is often frightening… and above all polluting.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL

The result? Goodbye fast fashion and its harmful impact on the planet, the ecological footprint of virtual clothing being virtually nil, although digital pollution is starting to come under fire, especially 5G on the way. At least this is the promise made by British brand Carlings, with pieces attractively priced under 20 dollars. But it is not the only one.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Artificial intelligence and design

Beyond Instagram, the challenge of these virtual clothes lies above all in integrating artificial intelligence into the design process, instead of a design studio. This challenge has already been met by the label Glitch, which has just launched a collection of little black dresses, generated by artificial intelligence and then created by a pattern maker who brings them to life. The brand also offers an unprecedented customisation tool that allows customers to create their own design and wear a little dress to match their personality. 

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL

This is a way of meeting consumers’ expectations as closely as possible, as well as collecting a host of data about their tastes and preferences. Luxury is undoubtedly set to appropriate this global trend for personalised targeting and optimised user experience without delay.

Quand l’intelligence artificielle se met à la mode

Porter une robe qui n’existe pas ? À l’heure où la réalité augmentée donne le ton des nouvelles innovations, une création sans fil ni couture a ainsi été conçue par le designer néerlandais The Fabricant, en collaboration avec Dapper Labs  et l’artiste Johanna Jaskowska. Plus étonnant encore, cette pièce unique en son genre a été vendue aux enchères sur la blockchain à près de 9500$, une première dans le monde de la mode.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Influence et écologie

Après les influenceurs virtuels comme Sophia et Liam Nikuro, c’est au tour des vêtements eux-même de transcender les lois de la physique. Essor de la réalité augmentée oblige, ces pièces qu’on ne peut pas toucher se portent uniquement de façon virtuelle, se déployant sur nos silhouettes via notamment les réseaux sociaux.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Sur un post Instagram, on pourra donc bientôt s’afficher dans une tenue qui n’existe pourtant pas. Une façon pour les blogueurs et autres influenceurs 4.0 de renouveler infiniment leur garde-robe, leur fameux #OutfitOfTheDay quotidien étant la source même de leur business, sans pour autant tomber dans la consommation excessive de prêt-à-porter. Faces aux injonctions de nouveautés, beaucoup des pièces affichées sur leur compte avec fierté sont pourtant le lendemain reléguées au fin fond de leur dressing aménagé, entraînant via leur followers un turnover de looks souvent effrayant… mais surtout polluant.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Résultat ? Exit la fast-fashion et son impact nocif sur la planète, l’empreinte écologique des vêtements virtuels étant quasiment nulle, bien que la pollution numérique commence elle-aussi à être pointée du doigt, notamment avec l’arrivée de la 5G. C’est du moins la promesse que fait la marque britannique Carlings avec des pièces aux prix attractifs ne dépassant pas les 20 dollars. Mais elle n’est pas la seule.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Intelligence artificielle et création

Au delà d’Instagram, l’enjeu de ces vêtements virtuels réside surtout dans l’intégration d’intelligence artificielle dans le processus de conception, en lieu et place d’un studio de création. C’est ce à quoi est déjà parvenu le label Glitch, qui vient de lancer une collection de petites robes noires, générée par une intelligence artificielle puis conçue par une modéliste qui leur donne vie. La marque propose également un outil de personnalisation inédit qui permet aux clientes d’imaginer leur propre design et ainsi de porter une petite robe à leur image.

The Fabricant, Dapper Labs, Johanna Jaskowska
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Une façon  de répondre au plus près des attentes de consommateurs mais aussi de récolter tout un tas de données sur leurs goûts et leurs préférences. Une tendance globale au ciblage individualisé et à l’expérience utilisateur optimisé, que le luxe devrait certainement s’approprier sans tarder.