A robotic textile sensitive to our body temperature? This is the revolutionary new invention in the field of wearable technology just achieved by the Design of Active Materials and Structures Lab and Wearable Technology Lab, according to a study published by Advanced Materials Technologies.

Design, of, Active, Materials, and, Structures, Lab, Wearable, Technology, Lab, Advanced, Materials, Technologies, SMA, Brad Holschuh, NASA
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Highly modular robotic knits

At first glance, these fabrics with the potential to change how we interact with the clothes we wear every day look like simple knits. In reality, they were created using a special category of active materials, known as shape memory alloys (SMAs), which have the specific feature of changing shape when heated. “This is an important step forward in the creation of robotic textiles for on-body applications,” stated Brad Holschuh, the project lead. In partnership with NASA, researchers from the University of Minnesota studied the unique dimensions of a human leg. They then designed, manufactured and tested an SMA-based knitted garment that can precisely conform to a leg’s topography. “This technology required advancements on multiple scales,” adds Julianna Abel. “At the material scale, we tuned it to respond to body temperature without added power. Structurally, we manufactured it to adapt to the complex shapes of the human body perfectly. At the system level, we created an operation that maps the mechanical performance of textiles to human anatomy. Each advancement is important, but, together, they create a functionality that didn’t exist before,” explains the researcher.

Design, of, Active, Materials, and, Structures, Lab, Wearable, Technology, Lab, Advanced, Materials, Technologies, SMA, Brad Holschuh, NASA
Selected by PROMOSTYL
A host of garment applications

In fact, these new-generation fabrics can be used to produce custom garments that can easily go from loose to tight-fitting and even bend in unique ways to conform to irregularly curved regions of the body (such as the back of the knee). The researchers would subsequently like to be able to create compression garments that are initially loose and easy to put on, while being able to shrink to tightly fit the wearer. ““This creates an exciting new opportunity to create garments that can physically transform over time, which has significant implications for medical, aerospace and commercial applications,” stated Holschuh. The next step? Integrating these textiles into full-sized garments, thereby solving a variety of clothing problems where fit and conformance to the body are important, such as compression stockings

Un textile robotique sensible à la température de notre corps ? C’est la nouvelle invention révolutionnaire dans le domaine de la technologie portable à laquelle viennent d’aboutir les laboratoires Design of Active Materials and Structures Lab et Wearable Technology Lab, selon une étude publiée par Advanced Materials Technologies.

Design, of, Active, Materials, and, Structures, Lab, Wearable, Technology, Lab, Advanced, Materials, Technologies, SMA, Brad Holschuh, NASA
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des tricots robotiques ultra-modulables

À première vue, ces tissus potentiellement capable de changer notre manière d’intéragir avec les vêtements que nous portons tous les jours ressemblent à de simples tricots. En réalité, ils sont créés à l’aide d’une catégorie spéciale de matières actives, appelées alliages à mémoire de forme (SMA), qui présentent la particularité de changer de forme lorsqu’elles sont chauffées. “Il s’agit d’un pas en avant important dans la création de textiles robotiques destinés aux applications sur le corps” , a déclaré Brad Holschuh, à la tête du projet. En partenariat avec la NASA, les chercheurs de l’Université du Manitoba ont ainsi étudié les dimensions uniques d’une jambe humaine. Ils ont ensuite conçu, fabriqué et testé par la suite un vêtement tricoté à base de SMA pouvant parfaitement s’adapter à la topographie de la jambe. “Cette technologie a nécessité des avancées à plusieurs échelles”, ajoute Julianna Abel. « À l’échelle matérielle, nous l’avons ajusté pour répondre à la température corporelle sans augmentation de puissance. Nous l’avons fabriqué structurellement pour l’adapter parfaitement aux formes complexes du corps humain. Au niveau du système, nous avons créé une opération qui cartographie les performances mécaniques du textile à l’anatomie humaine. Chaque progrès est important, mais ensemble, ils créent une fonctionnalité qui n’existait pas auparavant. » détaille la chercheuse.

Design, of, Active, Materials, and, Structures, Lab, Wearable, Technology, Lab, Advanced, Materials, Technologies, SMA, Brad Holschuh, NASA
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des applications vestimentaires multiples

En effet, ces tissus nouvelle génération peuvent être utilisés pour la confection de vêtements personnalisés qui peuvent facilement passer de lâches à ajustés, et même se plier de manière unique pour se conformer à des régions du corps aux courbes irrégulières (comme par exemple, l’arrière du genou). Par la suite, les chercheurs aimeraient qu’ils puissent permettre la création de vêtements de compression qui soient initialement amples et faciles à porter tout en pouvant se contracter et mouler étroitement celui qui le porte. « Cela crée une nouvelle opportunité passionnante de créer des vêtements qui peuvent se transformer physiquement au fil du temps, ce qui a des implications importantes pour les applications médicales, aérospatiales et commerciales« , a déclaré Holschuh. Prochaine étape ? Intégrer ces textiles dans des vêtements grande taille et ainsi résoudre diverses problématiques vestimentaires pour lesquelles l’adéquation et la conformité au corps sont importantes, tels que les bas de contention par exemple.