New fibres based on food waste

Transforming food waste into fabrics and fibres? This is the booming textile trend that is currently revolutionising the fashion industry, whose toxic environmental impact is being criticised a little bit more each day. We take a closer look at these exceptional materials with extraordinary properties.

Selected by PROMOSTYL

A booming sector

Whereas the amount of food waste produced by humans is set to reach 9.6 billion by 2050, textile manufacturers are rivalling each other when it comes to imaginative ways to create innovative and ethical fibres, repurposing natural raw materials that have already been used in order to reduce their environmental impact. This intense and dynamic search has notably been recognised by the filing in 2016 of scientific patents by the City University of Hong Kong (CityU) and the Hong Kong Research Institute of Textiles and Apparel Limited (HKRITA). The result? Many fibres made using foodstuffs have come to light over the past few years, pushing back the limits of textile design. Accordingly, an Italian company Antonella Bellini is nowadays able to boldly transform spoilt milk into clothes, the milk being heated beforehand, reduced to a powder and then transformed into a woven fibre. But it is not the only one to achieve such feats.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

A diverse variety of fibres

The latest to date? Coconut wool. Christened Nullarbor and invented by the Australian firm Nanollose, this fabric is manufactured by fermenting liquid coconut waste, placed in a culture with bacteria, without requiring trees to be cut down or the use of much water/energy compared to cotton. This production method brings to mind the process for making Piñatex, a plant-based leather made from pineapple leaf waste that – initiated by the British firm Ananas Anam – has seen rapid growth in the vegan shoe industry. It is in direct competition with the wine leather from the Italian company Vegea, which had the ingenious idea of using the Latin country’s winemaking resources to come up with an extremely robust material made from the seeds and skins left over from grapes used to make wine. This technological feat earned it the Global Change Award from the H&M group and the 2017 Innovation prize at the PETA Fashion Awards, guaranteeing it global renown. The same success awaited AppleSkin imagined by the start-up Frumat, which uses a specific process to transform the fruit waste into a plant-based textile as well as Kraft paper and tissues.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Finally, it is worth noting the invention of orange fibre, developed by the Salvatore Ferragamo group using citrus waste and rewarded with numerous prizes, as well as banana silk, S.Café® developed by L’Herbe Rouge, and the development of new non-woven materials based on eggshells! This non-exhaustive list of promising advances primarily indicates the emergence of a new textile era based on upcycling and the circular economy. A whole host of opportunities!

Selected by PROMOSTYL

Les nouvelles fibres à base de déchets alimentaires

Transformer des déchets alimentaires en tissus et fibres ? C’est la tendance textile en plein essor qui est en train de révolutionner l’industrie de la mode, dont l’impact environnemental toxique est chaque jour un peu plus pointé du doigt. Focus sur ces matières hors-du-commun aux vertus prodigieuses.

Selected by PROMOSTYL

Un secteur en plein essor

Alors que la quantité de déchets alimentaires produite par l’homme devrait atteindre les 9,6 milliards d’ici 2050, les producteurs de textile rivalisent d’imagination pour créer des fibres innovantes et éthiques, revalorisant les matières premières naturelles déjà utilisées afin de réduire leur impact environnemental. Une recherche intense et dynamique, qui a notamment été reconnue par le dépôt en 2016 de brevets scientifiques par la City University of Hong Kong (CityU) et le Hong Kong Research Institute of Textiles and Apparel Limited (HKRITA). Résultat ? De nombreuses fibres réalisées à partir de comestibles ont ainsi vu le jour ces dernières années, repoussant les limites de la création textile. C’est ainsi qu’une société italienne, Antonella Bellini, parvient aujourd’hui à transformer de manière audacieuse du lait gâté en vêtements, ce dernier étant au préalable chauffé, réduit en poudre puis transformé en fibre tissée. Mais ce n’est pas la seule à réaliser de telles prouesses.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Des fibres diverses et variées

La dernière en date ? La laine de coco. Baptisé Nullarbor et conçu par la firme australienne Nanollose, ce tissu est fabriqué à partir de la fermentation de déchets de noix de coco liquides, mises en culture avec des bactéries, sans que cela nécessite l’abattage d’arbres ou encore l’utilisation de beaucoup d’eau/d’énergie en comparaison avec le coton. Une méthode de production qui n’est pas sans rappeler celle du Piñatex, ce cuir végétal réalisé à partir de déchets de feuilles d’ananas et qui, initié par le Britannique Ananas Anam, a connu une croissance rapide dans l’industrie de la chaussure vegan. Il concurrence directement le cuir de raisin de l’entreprise italienne Vegea qui a eu l’idée ingénieuse d’utiliser les ressources viticoles du pays latin pour concevoir une matière très résistante, réalisée à partir de résidus de grains et de peaux issus de la transformation du raisin en vin. Une prouesse technologique qui a lui a valu le prix Global Change Award du groupe H&M et le prix de l’Innovation 2017 des PETA Fashion Award, lui assurant une reconnaissance mondiale. Même succès pour AppleSkin imaginé par la start-up Frumat et qui permet de transformer, selon un processus donné, des déchets dudit fruit en textile végétal, mais aussi en papier kraft et en mouchoirs.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Enfin, on note l’invention de la fibre d’orange, développée par le groupe Salvatore Ferragamo à partir de déchets d’agrumes et récompensée par de multiples prix, mais aussi celle de la soie de bananier, le S.Café® développé par L’Herbe Rouge ou encore le développement de nouvelles matières non-tissées à base de coquilles d’œuf ! Une liste non-exhaustive d’avancées prometteuses, qui indique avant tout l’émergence d’une nouvelle ère textile fondée sur l’upcycling et l’économie circulaire. Tout un programme !

Selected by PROMOSTYL