Clear Fashion: the mobile app to choose clothes that are kind to people and the environment

What lies behind the clothes that we sometimes buy in a frenzy without really thinking about it? This is the question that the Clear Fashion app attempts to answer, deciphering brands and their production methods at a mere click on your smartphone. Here’s how.

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by
Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Clothparency' founders - Selected by
A revolutionary app

Keen to discover what hides behind the clothing labels and names that we so often frequent? With Clear Fashion, you can now obtain an analysis of the commitments made by over 70 brands according to four themes: human, health, environment, and finally animals. How? Simply by taking a photo of the label of the garment that you want to decipher.

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by

A first level of information will offer you a general overview of the brand’s commitments in terms of composition, practices and labels obtained, while a second will give you more information about the brand’s maturity concerning each criterion in each theme. A must for comparing pieces and choosing those that best correspond to your values!

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by
A committee of renowned experts

But how does it work? Clear Fashion has constructed an independent evaluation method, created by means of consumer surveys, as well as numerous discussions with renowned experts on the themes assessed, whether sociologists, chemical engineers or textile supply chain professionals. Together, they have defined five major principles of analysis.

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by
Rigorous analysis principles

First of all, the “big picture” aims to assess the level of responsibility of brands and clothes for all the chosen criteria: humans, health, animals and the environment. Then, an independence principle offers a reminder that a brand holds no influence or decision-making authority over how the score is reached, based solely on the scale made public to users. In addition, with a view to continuous improvement, Clear Fashion regularly takes into account feedback and limits highlighted by users and reworks its methodology with the help of the committee of experts. 

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by

Moreover, when they cannot obtain any information about a given criterion through their research and contact with a brand, the app considers this to be a potential risk. This fourth principle is followed by the final one: goodwill. Clean Fashion only incorporates information concerning current policies, practices and collections rather than forecasts or future commitments. At any time, each brand can contact them to update its information and amend it as soon as possible. In short, the right to a second chance.

Selected by

Clear Fashion, l’application mobile pour choisir des vêtements respectueux de l’humain et de l’environnement

Que se cache-t-il derrière les vêtements que l’on achète parfois frénétiquement, sans vraiment réfléchir ? C’est la question à laquelle tente de répondre l’appli Clear Fashion en décryptant les marques et leurs méthodes de production d’un simple clic sur notre smartphone. Explications.

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by
Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Clothparency' founders - Selected by
Une appli révolutionnaire

Envie de découvrir ce qui se cache derrière les labels et enseignes de vêtements que l’on fréquente si souvent ? Avec Clear Fashion, il est désormais possible d’obtenir une analyse des engagements effectifs de plus de 70 marques selon 4 thématiques : humain, santé, environnement et enfin animaux. Comment ? En prenant tout simplement en photo l’étiquette du vêtement que vous souhaitez décrypter.

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by

Un premier niveau d’information vous permettra ainsi d’avoir un aperçu global des engagements de la marque en terme de composition, de pratiques et de labels obtenus, tandis qu’un second vous donnera plus d’informations sur l’état de maturité de la marque sur chaque critère de chaque thématique. Le must pour comparer les pièces et sélectionner celles qui correspondent le mieux à vos valeurs !

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by
Un comité d’experts reconnus

Mais comment ça marche ? Clear Fashion a construit une méthode d’évaluation indépendante, réalisée grâce à des enquêtes de consommateurs, mais aussi à de nombreux échanges avec des experts reconnus sur les thématiques évaluées, qu’ils soient sociologue, ingénieur-chimiste ou professionnels des chaînes d’approvisionnement textile. Ensemble, ils ont défini 5 grands principes d’analyse.

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by
Des principes d’analyse rigoureux

Tout d’abord, la “vision d’ensemble” vise à évaluer le niveau de responsabilité des marques et des vêtements sur l’ensemble des critères choisis : les humains, la santé, les animaux et l’environnement. Ensuite, un principe d’indépendance rappelle qu’une marque n’exerce aucune influence ou droit de décision sur la façon dont est construite la note, basée uniquement sur le barème rendu public aux utilisateurs. Par ailleurs, dans un souci d’amélioration continue, Clear Fashion prend régulièrement en compte les retours et limites mis en avant par les utilisateurs et retravaille sa méthodologie avec l’aide du comité d’experts.

Clear Fashion, Clothparency
Selected by

Par ailleurs, lorsque leurs recherches et prises de contact avec une marque ne permettent d’obtenir aucune information sur un critère donné, l’appli considère qu’il s’agit d’un risque potentiel. Un quatrième principe qui en précède un dernier : la bienveillance. En effet, Clean Fashion intègre uniquement les informations concernant les politiques, pratiques et collections actuelles, et non sur des projections ou engagements futurs. Chaque marque peut, à tout moment, les contacter pour actualiser ses informations et les mettre à jour dans les plus brefs délais. Le droit à une seconde chance en somme.

Selected by