August 19th 2021 – By Promostyl

Weleda, The Origin of Pharmaceutical Cosmetics

It all began with the young Ita Wegman in the 1880s. Born into a family of Dutch settlers, Ita became interested in cultural and religious healing practices at an early age. Fascinated by alternative medicine, she began studying medicine in Switzerland despite the era in which she lived that was resistant to women's emancipation. She soon wrote books on the holistic knowledge of the human being, then founded her own clinic in 1920, as well as the Internationale Laboratorien & Klinisch Therapeutisches Institut Arlesheim, the future Weleda laboratories.

Together, with the philosopher Rudolf Steiner, their research and work laid the foundations for anthroposophic medicine and pharmacy. They described a human being who was part of nature and had the same genes as the flora and fauna. They came to the conclusion that human care should be derived from the earth and plants. Weleda was then founded in 1920.

Using biodynamic agriculture, the laboratory created its own ranges of organic cosmetics, juices and syrups, and skin care products. Effective, natural, and ecological, Weleda's products soon became indispensable until they reached the international market in 1950. Since then, the brand has continued to sell effective and healthy products for the skin, remaining number one in the pharmaceutical cosmetics market.

19 août 2021 – Par Promostyl

Weleda, l’origine des cosmétiques pharmaceutiques

Tout a commencé avec la jeune Ita Wegman dans les années 1880. Née dans une famille de colons hollandais, Ita s’intéresse très jeune aux pratiques culturelles et religieuses en matière de soin. Fascinée par la médecine douce, elle se lance dans des études de médecine en Suisse, malgré l’époque réfractaire à l’émancipation de la femme dans laquelle elle vit. Très vite, elle écrit des livres sur la connaissance globale de l’être humain, puis fonda sa propre clinique en 1920, ainsi que la société Internationale Laboratorien & Klinisch Therapeutisches Institut Arlesheim, les futurs laboratoires Weleda.

Grâce à ses travaux de recherche élaborés avec le philosophe Rudolf Steiner, ils posent à deux les bases de la médecine et de la pharmacie anthroposophique. Ils y décrivent alors un homme faisant partie de la nature et ayant les mêmes gênes que la faune et la flore. Ils en arrivent donc à la conclusion que les soins de l’homme doivent être puisés dans la terre et les plantes. Weleda voit alors le jour en 1920.

Ainsi, en utilisant l’agriculture biodynamique, le laboratoire crée ses propres gammes de cosmétiques, jus et sirops bio et soin pour la peau. Efficaces, naturels et écologiques, les produits Weleda ne tardent pas à devenir des indispensables, jusqu'à toucher l’international en 1950. Depuis, la marque ne cesse de vendre des produits efficaces et sains pour la peau, restant depuis toutes ces années le numéro 1 sur le marché des cosmétiques pharmaceutiques.