Sun Lee's paper clothing

Inherited from Korean tradition, Sun Lee’s paper clothing collection surprisingly pushes back the boundaries of the ready-to-wear industry in terms of sustainable development.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Disposable and recyclable clothing

The young designer Sun Lee, a graduate of the prestigious Design Academy Eindhoven, found inspiration for this singular collection by drawing on her Korean roots.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL

The principle? A capsule collection of six garments, created exclusively from… paper. Dubbed “Consumption of Heritage”, this extraordinary line looks to creatively highlight traditional production methods and materials while incorporating them into a contemporary context. A dialogue between past and present that Sun Lee wanted to embody in light of the amount of waste produced by the textile industry each year. “This collection is based on three principles: ephemerality, disposability and sustainability,” the designer explained.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
An artisanal collection with versatile pieces

These garments are entirely crafted by hand and are actually made (buttons included) of Hansan-Mosi fabric with biodegradable properties and Hanji paper, a symbol of the Korean philosophy of the ephemeral. This textile feat was made possible by the combination of age-old techniques and the use of modular pieces that can be worn in different ways.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL

The result? Reduced to a few pieces, the collection allows several looks and silhouettes to be created, which can also be easily recycled once worn. The floral jacket with openwork motifs is thus paired with the sweater vest made from calligraphed paper-mâché, layered with the delicate coat in hansan-mosi fabric. The Hanji Feather tunic can be worn with any outfit, perfectly reproducing the effect of immaculate plumage. In short, an ode to craftsmanship, reconciling traditional know-how, aesthetic requirements and ecological imperatives throughout the collection.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Une ode à l’artisanat en somme, qui tout au long de la collection réconcilie savoir-faire traditionnel, exigences esthétiques et impératifs écologiques.

Héritée de la tradition coréenne, la collection de vêtements en papier de Sun Lee repousse de façon surprenante les limites de l’industrie du prêt-à-porter en matière de développement durable.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des vêtements jetables et recyclables

C’est en puisant dans ses racines coréennes que la jeune créatrice Sun Lee, diplômée de la prestigieuse Design Academy Eindhoven, a trouvé l’inspiration pour cette singulière collection.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Le principe ? Une capsule de six vêtements, réalisée exclusivement à partir de… papier. Baptisée “ Consumption of Heritage”, cette ligne hors norme vise à mettre en lumière de façon créative les méthodes de production et les matériaux traditionnels tout en les inscrivant dans un contexte contemporain. Un dialogue entre passé et présent que Sun Lee a souhaité matérialiser au regard de la quantité de déchets produits chaque année par l’industrie textile. “Cette collection est basée sur trois principes : éphémérité, usage unique, et conformité au développement durable.” a expliqué la designer.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Une collection artisanale aux pièces versatiles

Entièrement confectionnés à la main, ces vêtements (boutons compris) sont en effet composés de tissu Hansan-Mosi, aux propriétés biodégradables, et de papier Hanji, symbole de la philosophie coréenne de l’éphémère. Une prouesse textile rendue possible par la combinaison de techniques ancestrales et l’utilisation de pièces modulaires, pouvant être portées de différentes manières.

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Résultat ? Réduite à quelques pièces, la collection permet en réalité la création de plusieurs looks, de plusieurs silhouettes, qui peuvent par ailleurs être facilement recyclées une fois portées. La veste florale aux motifs ajourés se conjugue ainsi au chandail sans manches fabriquées à partir de papier mâché calligraphié, tout en se superposant au délicat manteau de tissu hansan-mosi. Quant à la tunique Hanji Feather, elle se porte sur n’importe quelle tenue, reproduisant à la perfection l’effet d’un plumage immaculé

Sun Lee, Consumption of Heritage, Hansan-Mosi, Hanji
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Une ode à l’artisanat en somme, qui tout au long de la collection réconcilie savoir-faire traditionnel, exigences esthétiques et impératifs écologiques.

Un commentaire

  1. Ping : otc ed meds

Commentaires fermés